The charming, fairytale-looking cottage home of Washington Irving provided the inspiration for this waltz, composed in 1850. “Sunnyside Waltz” was written by Henry T. Oates and dedicated to a Miss Ella Ford of Augusta, Georgia. An original copy of the score sits on the rosewood piano found in Irving’s living room. “We are not musical”, reviewed the Southern Literary Messenger in 1850, “but that we … Continue reading The Sunnyside Waltz, 1850
Published in 1880 to coincide with the centenary of the capture of Major André in September, 1780, this slight volume of just 24 pages, laid out a brief history of the village, focusing on the dramatic events of September 23rd. The volume came with a reproduction map ‘of Tarrytown as it was one hundred years ago’, notable for the spelling of the village as ‘Tarwe-town’, … Continue reading A Brief History of Tarrytown, 1880
This antique magic lantern slide dates to 1915 and shows Civil War veterans marching through Tarrytown. Half a century after the end of the war, those marching would have been in their 70s or thereabouts. Magic lanterns were wildly popular in the 18th century both in the home and for educational purposes. Continue reading Civil War Veterans Magic Lantern Slide
The G. & D. Silver Shoe Factory was a footwear manufacturing plant located in Tarrytown, New York. The G. & D. Silver Shoe Company was established in 1857 by brothers George and David Silver. Their primary office and warehouse was located at 18 Warren Street, New York, New York. In 1871 the company opened a factory on Washington Street, along side the Andre Brook, where they manufactured high quality footwear. When … Continue reading The G. & D. Silver Shoe Factory, 1857
This miniature train ride was an amusement at Euclid Beach Park, Cleveland, Ohio. It featured a tiny church and Ichabod Crane school house. The park itself opened in 1895, modeled after Brooklyn’s Coney Island. It had seven wooden rollercoaster, sideshows, beer halls and even gambling along side this charming representation of Sleepy Hollow Village. The amusement park’s owners aimed to ‘present nothing that would demoralize … Continue reading Miniature Sleepy Hollow Village Ride, c.1900
In 1896, the Village of Tarrytown tore down the old stone house belonging to the Elizabeth Van Tassel family that had inspired a scene in The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Elizabeth was inspiration for Katrina Van Tassel in The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. A school went up in its place, overlooking the Village. First called the Washington Irving School until 1926 when a larger school … Continue reading The Katrina Van Tassel home
The corner of Wildey Street and Mechanics Avenue is home to the Foster Memorial AME Zion Church, thought to be one of the oldest African American churches in all of New York. Opened in 1864, it was an important stop on the Underground Railroad, and is still a thriving church today. It is named after one of the founders, Amanda Foster. Charlene Weigel writing for … Continue reading Amanda Foster
The Old Dutch Church in Harper’s Weekly, May 20th,1882. Photographed by Pach of a painting by A. Wordsworth Thompson Continue reading The Old Dutch Church in Harper’s Weekly, May 20th,1882.